The Team

It Takes More than One Person to Educate a Child.

In 1995 a group of twenty area families and businesses came together to establish a fund to support Dothan City Schools. The Education Foundation for Dothan’s Future was born. The Foundation’s primary purpose was to strengthen student achievement and motivation, improve classroom instruction and teacher morale, and build community support and confidence in public schools through funds raised from private, corporate and governmental sources for such purposes. In October of 2012, the Education Foundation for Dothan’s Future, Inc., combined with two successful community initiatives, Yes We Can! Dothan and Adopt-A-School! Dothan, to form the Dothan Education Foundation (DEF).

The same work that began in 1995 continues today through the Dothan Education Foundation.  Governed by a 15-member voluntary Board of Directors, the DEF exists to support our students, teachers and parents by creating an environment of community involvement and engagement with our schools through various activities and programs. While the Foundation’s goal is to meet the educational needs of Dothan, it does not duplicate the work of education-related groups. The Foundation works closely with the school board, parent-teacher associations and other school groups, but remains strictly independent.

Board of Directors

Trip Whatley, Chairman – Holman-Whatley & Associates

Mark Freeman, Chair-Elect – Farley Nuclear Plant

Jennie Lee, Secretary– Educator, DCS Parent

Delvick McKay, Member at Large– Personnel Director, City of Dothan

David Arrington- Troy University

David Crutchfield – Real Time, LLC & Commissioner – District 6, City of Dothan

Mike Doherty- Farley Nuclear Plant, Southern Company

Kandy Groover, Past Chair – Slingluff Insurance

Robert Hewes – Coldwell Banker Realty

Sharon Kelley- Retired Dothan City Schools Administrator

Neil Martin- Plant Manager, Wayne Farms, LLC

Michelle Morgan – Michelin North America

Critt Snellgrove, Immediate Past Chair – Retired

Emily Stewart – Alfred Saliba Realty

Tom Ziegenfelder, Past Chair – Retired


Rose Gordon – Municipal Judge, City of Dothan


Lindsey Fountain

Lindsey Fountain

Executive Director

Lindsey Fountain, Dothan native, has spent the majority of her career serving others through roles in state and federal government and starting her own private consulting business.

A 2013 graduate of Troy University-Dothan’s MBA program and 2009 mass communications/journalism degree from Auburn University, Lindsey worked as a public affairs specialist for U.S. Senator Jeff Sessions working directly with hundreds of constituents to resolve cases with local government and federal agencies. After Lindsey’s role with the U.S. Senate, Lindsey managed marketing and outreach for several federal child nutrition programs with the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to include the Florida Farm to School initiative and the Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) Farmer’s Market Nutrition Program.

Upon her relocation, she served as a project manager for the Southeast AlabamaWorks Region 6 workforce council and has served as policy chair for the National Farmers Market Nutrition Board and volunteers with many organizations. She is married to her husband John and has a daughter, Rhiannon and son, Buck.